Only Watch 2021

Trilobe byDaniel Buren

Trilobe is very proud to support Only Watch again in its 2021 edition.
It is to honour this extraordinarily ambitious project that the Trilobe watchmaking House and the sculptor Daniel Buren have decided to offer a unique creation, based on a unique collaboration full of meaning. This will convince us that “La Réciproque”, the fruit of this collaboration, is as beautiful between art and watchmaking as it is between audacity and generosity.

See you on the 6th of November 2021 for the auction
in Geneva with Christie’s! 

Discover

La Réciproque

Forms, colours and meanings find their reciprocal,
Hours, minutes and seconds dance around each other,
Black and White marry to the beating of a red heart,
Verticality is amused by circularity,
The frantic race of the “X-Centric” rings overlaps the verticality of the 8.7cm wide strips,
Colours leave and find each other again,
Shapes finally align themselves twice a day only,
At the time when it all began, the time of the first meeting of Daniel Buren & Trilobe, at 02:13pm.

Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

La Réciproque

Forms, colours and meanings find their reciprocal,
Hours, minutes and seconds dance around each other,
Black and White marry to the beating of a red heart,
Verticality is amused by circularity,
The frantic race of the “X-Centric” rings overlaps the verticality of the 8.7cm wide strips,
Colours leave and find each other again,
Shapes finally align themselves twice a day only,
At the time when it all began, the time of the first meeting of Daniel Buren & Trilobe, at 02:13pm.

Mouvement de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

The D-Centric Calibre

Designed as the scarlet beating heart of the work, this mechanical calibre is unlike any other. It combines the architectural codes dear to Trilobe with the artistic vision of the Sculptor Daniel Buren.
A real technical challenge, it took several months of development to create this unique calibre, designed in France and entirely handmade by Swiss watchmakers in the canton of Vaud, Switzerland. inspired by Trilobe’s signature X-Centric Calibre, each part has been recalibrated to the scale of this unique clock, to allow the display of the hours, the minutes and the seconds by rotating rings and fixed indicators. In the purest horological tradition, the clock is equipped with a constant-force escapement, while the barrel has been doubled to provide an eight-day power reserve.
It features the excellent finishes of traditional watchmaking, with hand-polishing, bevelled bridges, as well as sunburst barrels and a sandblasted plate.

Mouvement de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

The D-Centric Calibre

Designed as the scarlet beating heart of the work, this mechanical calibre is unlike any other. It combines the architectural codes dear to Trilobe with the artistic vision of the Sculptor Daniel Buren.
A real technical challenge, it took several months of development to create this unique calibre, designed in France and entirely handmade by Swiss watchmakers in the canton of Vaud, Switzerland. inspired by Trilobe’s signature X-Centric Calibre, each part has been recalibrated to the scale of this unique clock, to allow the display of the hours, the minutes and the seconds by rotating rings and fixed indicators. In the purest horological tradition, the clock is equipped with a constant-force escapement, while the barrel has been doubled to provide an eight-day power reserve.
It features the excellent finishes of traditional watchmaking, with hand-polishing, bevelled bridges, as well as sunburst barrels and a sandblasted plate.

Daniel Buren

Considered one of the most recognised French Artist on the international scene, Daniel Buren has had nearly 3,000 exhibitions around the world. including Monumenta at the Grand Palais (2012), the Observatory of Light at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris (2016), “Les Deux Plateaux” in the Cour d’Honneur of the Palais Royal, the Venice Biennale on more than 10 occasions with the Golden Lion in 1986 or the Guggenheim Museum in New York in 2005, without forgetting the memorable exhibition using all the available spaces, on the rooftops, in the basement, in the caterpillar, on the balconies, at the Pompidou Centre in 2002. In 2007, Daniel Buren was awarded the Praemium Imperiale of Japan for his work, the highest honour in the field of the visual arts.

Learn More
Les Deux Plateaux, Cour d'Honneur du Palais Royal, Paris. Œuvre réalisée par Daniel Buren.

Daniel Buren

Considered one of the most recognised French Artist on the international scene, Daniel Buren has had nearly 3,000 exhibitions around the world. including Monumenta at the Grand Palais (2012), the Observatory of Light at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris (2016), “Les Deux Plateaux” in the Cour d’Honneur of the Palais Royal, the Venice Biennale on more than 10 occasions with the Golden Lion in 1986 or the Guggenheim Museum in New York in 2005, without forgetting the memorable exhibition using all the available spaces, on the rooftops, in the basement, in the caterpillar, on the balconies, at the Pompidou Centre in 2002. In 2007, Daniel Buren was awarded the Praemium Imperiale of Japan for his work, the highest honour in the field of the visual arts.

Learn More

Singular Collaboration 

However, the artist has very few collaborations to his credit. We can highlight his exceptional collaboration with Hermès in 2010, for which he produced 360 squares, all of them unique. Louis Vuitton also entrusted him in 2013 with each of the windows of its most emblematic shops around the world, as well as the production of its fashion show in the Cour Carrée du Louvre. Today it is Trilobe time that Daniel Buren has decided to sublimate in the service of the Only Watch cause.

Learn More
Portrait du sculpteur contemporain Daniel Buren, collaborateur de Trilobe dans le projet Only Watch 2021

Singular Collaboration 

However, the artist has very few collaborations to his credit. We can highlight his exceptional collaboration with Hermès in 2010, for which he produced 360 squares, all of them unique. Louis Vuitton also entrusted him in 2013 with each of the windows of its most emblematic shops around the world, as well as the production of its fashion show in the Cour Carrée du Louvre. Today it is Trilobe time that Daniel Buren has decided to sublimate in the service of the Only Watch cause.

Learn More

Encounter & Creation

It is from a desire for reciprocity that the Trilobe by Daniel Buren project was born: to combine a young watchmaking House with one of the most recognised Artist on the international scene. Around a scarlet beating heart, imagine a duality between the technicality of the watchmaker and the unique proposal of the Artist in an immediate dialogue with the «X-Centricity» of Trilobe.
Daniel Buren and Trilobe have fun with their encounter: opposing forms and colours, disturbing the view, questioning the mind. Art and watchmaking oppose and meet each other, in reciprocal forces.

Ebauche du projet de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021
Ebauche du projet de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

Encounter & Creation

It is from a desire for reciprocity that the Trilobe by Daniel Buren project was born: to combine a young watchmaking House with one of the most recognised Artist on the international scene. Around a scarlet beating heart, imagine a duality between the technicality of the watchmaker and the unique proposal of the Artist in an immediate dialogue with the «X-Centricity» of Trilobe.
Daniel Buren and Trilobe have fun with their encounter: opposing forms and colours, disturbing the view, questioning the mind. Art and watchmaking oppose and meet each other, in reciprocal forces.

Collection

"Les Matinaux"

Our first collection. Inspired by the author René Char and his poetry collection “Les Matinaux”. Three circles, five variations: which one would you choose?

Discover

Only Watch 2021

Trilobe par
Daniel Buren

Trilobe est très fier de soutenir à nouveau Only Watch dans son édition 2021.
C’est pour honorer ce projet extraordinairement ambitieux que la Maison Horlogère Trilobe et le Sculpteur Daniel Buren ont eu la volonté d’offrir, autour d’une collaboration unique et emplie de sens, une création singulière. Cette volonté nous convaincra que « La Réciproque », fruit de cette collaboration, est aussi belle entre l’art et l’horlogerie qu’entre l’audace et la générosité.

Rendez-vous le 6 novembre 2021 pour les enchères
à Genève avec Christie’s !

Découvrir

La Réciproque

Formes, couleurs et sens trouvent leur réciproque,
Les heures, minutes et secondes s’égrènent en dansant,
Le noir et le blanc s’épousent au rythme du battement d’un cœur rouge,
La verticalité s’amuse de la circularité,
La course effrénée des anneaux “X-Centriques“ chevauche la verticalité des bandes de 8,7cm de large,
Les couleurs se quittent et se retrouvent,
Les formes viennent s’aligner deux fois par jour uniquement,
À l’heure où tout a commencé, l’heure de la première rencontre Trilobe & Daniel Buren, 02h13.

Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

La Réciproque

Formes, couleurs et sens trouvent leur réciproque,
Les heures, minutes et secondes s’égrènent en dansant,
Le noir et le blanc s’épousent au rythme du battement d’un cœur rouge,
La verticalité s’amuse de la circularité,
La course effrénée des anneaux “X-Centriques“ chevauche la verticalité des bandes de 8,7cm de large,
Les couleurs se quittent et se retrouvent,
Les formes viennent et s’aligner deux fois par jour uniquement,
À l’heure où tout a commencé, l’heure de la première rencontre Trilobe & Daniel Buren, 02h13.

Mouvement de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

Le Calibre D-Centric

Conçu comme le coeur écarlate et battant de l’oeuvre, ce calibre mécanique ne ressemble à aucun autre. Il allie les codes architecturaux de Trilobe à la vision artistique du Sculpteur Daniel Buren. Véritable défi technique, des mois de développement auront été nécessaires pour réaliser ce calibre unique, entièrement fait main par des experts horlogers du canton de Vaud, en Suisse. Inspiré du calibre X-Centric signature de Trilobe, chaque pièce a été recalibrée à l’échelle de cette horloge unique, afin de permettre l’affichage des heures, minutes et secondes par anneaux rotatifs et index fixes. Dans la plus pure tradition horlogère, ce mouvement est doté d’un échappement à force constante, et le barillet est doublé pour pouvoir offrir une réserve de marche de huit jours. L’on y retrouve des finitions d’excellence, avec un polissage main, des ponts anglés, ainsi que des barillets soleillés et une platine microbillée.

Mouvement de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

Le Calibre D-Centric

Conçu comme le coeur écarlate et battant de l’oeuvre, ce calibre mécanique ne ressemble à aucun autre. Il allie les codes architecturaux de Trilobe à la vision artistique du Sculpteur Daniel Buren.
Véritable défi technique, des mois de développement auront été nécessaires pour réaliser ce calibre unique, entièrement fait main par des experts horlogers du canton de Vaud, en Suisse. Inspiré du calibre X-Centric signature de Trilobe, chaque pièce a été recalibrée à l’échelle de cette horloge unique, afin de permettre l’affichage des heures, minutes et secondes par anneaux rotatifs et index fixes. Dans la plus pure tradition horlogère, ce mouvement est doté d’un échappement à force constante, et le barillet est doublé pour pouvoir offrir une réserve de marche de huit jours.
L’on y retrouve des finitions d’excellence, avec un polissage main, des ponts anglés, ainsi que des barillets soleillés et une platine microbillée.

Daniel Buren

Considéré comme l’un des Artistes Français les plus reconnus de la scène internationale, Daniel Buren compte près de 3000 expositions dans le monde entier, dont notamment : Monumenta au Grand Palais (2012), l’Observatoire de la lumière à la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris (2016),  » Les Deux Plateaux  » dans la cour d’Honneur du Palais Royal, la Biennale de Venise à plus de 10 reprises avec le Lion d’or en 1986 ou le Guggenheim Museum à New York en 2005, sans oublier la mémorable exposition utilisant tous les espaces disponibles, sur les toits, au sous-sol, dans la chenille, sur les balcons, au Centre Pompidou en 2002.

En savoir plus
Les Deux Plateaux, Cour d'Honneur du Palais Royal, Paris. Œuvre réalisée par Daniel Buren.

Daniel Buren

Considéré comme l’un des Artistes Français les plus reconnus de la scène internationale, Daniel Buren compte près de 3000 expositions dans le monde entier, dont notamment : Monumenta au Grand Palais (2012), l’Observatoire de la lumière à la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris (2016),  » Les Deux Plateaux  » dans la cour d’Honneur du Palais Royal, la Biennale de Venise à plus de 10 reprises avec le Lion d’or en 1986 ou le Guggenheim Museum à New York en 2005, sans oublier la mémorable exposition utilisant tous les espaces disponibles, sur les toits, au sous-sol, dans la chenille, sur les balcons, au Centre Pompidou en 2002.

En savoir plus

Collaboration Singulière

Pourtant, l’artiste n’a que très peu de collaboration à son actif. On pourra souligner sa collaboration exceptionnelle avec la Maison Hermès en 2010 pour laquelle il produisit 360 Carrés, tous uniques. Louis Vuitton lui confia également en 2013 chacune des vitrines de ses magasins les plus emblématiques à travers le monde ainsi que la réalisation de son défilé dans la Cour Carrée du Louvre. Aujourd’hui, c’est le Temps Trilobe que Daniel Buren décide de sublimer au service de la cause Only Watch

En savoir plus
Portrait du sculpteur contemporain Daniel Buren, collaborateur de Trilobe dans le projet Only Watch 2021

Collaboration Singulière

En 2007, Daniel Buren reçoit pour son œuvre le Praemium Imperiale du Japon, la plus
honorifique des distinctions dans le domaine des Arts Plastiques.
Pourtant, l’artiste n’a que très peu de collaboration à son actif. On pourra souligner sa
collaboration exceptionnelle avec la Maison Hermès en 2010 pour laquelle il produisit
360 Carrés, tous uniques. Louis Vuitton lui confia également en 2013 chacune des vitrines
de ses magasins les plus emblématiques à travers le monde ainsi que la réalisation de
son défilé dans la Cour Carrée du Louvre. Aujourd’hui, c’est le Temps Trilobe que Daniel
Buren décide de sublimer au service de la cause Only Watch

En savoir plus

Rencontre & Création

C’est d’un désir de réciprocité qu’est né le projet Trilobe par Daniel Buren : réunir une jeune Maison Horlogère et l’un des Artistes les plus reconnus de la scène internationale. Autour d’un coeur battant écarlate, imaginer une dualité entre la technicité de l’Horloger et la proposition unique de l’Artiste en dialogue immédiat avec l’ »X-Centricité » de Trilobe. « Daniel Buren et Trilobe s’amusent de leur rencontre : opposer les formes, les couleurs, déranger les regards, interroger les esprits. L’art et l’horlogerie s’opposent et se rejoignent, en forces réciproques.

Ebauche du projet de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021
Ebauche du projet de l'Horloge Trilobe par Daniel Buren, La Réciproque, développée à l'occasion de la vente Only Watch 2021

Rencontre & Création

C’est d’un désir de réciprocité qu’est né le projet Trilobe par Daniel Buren : réunir une jeune Maison Horlogère et l’un des Artistes les plus reconnus de la scène internationale. Autour d’un coeur battant écarlate, imaginer une dualité entre la technicité de l’Horloger et la proposition unique de l’Artiste en dialogue immédiat avec l’ »X-Centricité » de Trilobe.
« Daniel Buren et Trilobe s’amusent de leur rencontre : opposer les formes, les couleurs, déranger les regards, interroger les esprits. L’art et l’horlogerie s’opposent et se rejoignent, en forces réciproques.

Collection

 « Les Matinaux »

Notre première collection. Inspirée par l’auteur René Char et son recueil de poésie « Les Matinaux ». Trois cercles, cinq variations : laquelle choisirez-vous ?

Découvrir